How can I single fire to cone 6?

Kakes

Hi all,

Newbie here! Although I've been working with clay for several years, I'm new to doing my own firing. I recently acquired a new kiln & it's been a huge learning curve. I would like to try single firing my pieces to cone 6. I will not be glazing for the most part - just oxide wash or terra sig.  Most of my pieces are slab constructed, some horizontal and some vertical, fairly large. Could someone recommend a firing schedule for this? For an electric kiln? (I'm still learning how to program my own ramp/hold program). Thank you!

Look up Steven Hill.

Here is my single fire schedule. The schedule handles pinhole issues and allows crystals to grow. Been single firing for 2 years. Never looked back to doing bisque. Some people glaze when their pots are hard leather hard. I wait till completely dry. I spray glazes normally but dip test tiles. Good Luck.

Kiln - Olympic 2327 HE

Glaze cone 6...

Segment    Rate F*/HR   Temp   Hold

1                       200              220     30-60

2                       100              500       0

3                       400              2050      0

4                       108              2185^  15

5                      9999             2085     20

6                      9999             1700      0

7                        50               1600    60

8                        50               1500      0

Thank you so much, dhPotter, I will try it. If I'm reading this correctly, the target temperature is 2185, right? Is that lower than the usual cone 6 firing?

I read Steven Hill's articles which were helpful but couldn't find an actual schedule. 

2185 with a 15 minute hold should get you to 6 in a way that'll allow you to get into your controlled cooling segments of the firing while limiting the risk of glazes running all over the place at peak.  But you should include cones in your firing to inform how best to adjust top temp if the program doesn't get you to 6.