Help with drying

I am a hobbyist and I throw at my universities ceramic studio. I have a really hard time drying things right. I go on Tuesdays and Thursdays at noon. If I throw something on Tuesday, I cant get it to dry properly by Thursday. If I put a plastic bag over it it is still far too wet to trim on Thursday and if I leave it completely bare it gets to bone dry. I cant figure out what to do differently. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. 

mea has the answer for your situation.

another choice may be to learn to trim bone dry pots.  it takes a sponge and water, a little more time and some courage.  you have already written off the pot, so try it.  wet the pot just enough with the sponge, take off that layer of wet with a  sharp tool, repeat sponge, tool  until done.

the key to making this work is just to know what amount of wet is enough.  if you totally dry out a small piece of your clay, business card size is good, and dip it into water, you can learn how much water it can take before crumbling.   hold it for a short time and scrape away what looks wet.  very little is gone.  try again a little longer and you can scrape more.  your clay, your sponge, your experience will teach you how to do it.  if you are silly, you might hold the clay in the water and watch it dissolve.  apparently that experience started the rumor that "you can't trim bone dry pots."  

that one is just as "correct" as the one about exploding air.

A suggestion: 
Make several "test" bowls at one sitting.  Does not matter if thrown or handbuilt, but thrown is more informative. 
Cover number 1 very carefully to keep moist for a long period.
cover number 2 very lightly
cover number 3 more than lightly but not as much as for long storage.
cover number 4 more than 3 but less than 1
cover number 5 more than 4 but less than 1
 ... etc until you run out of space or get bored.