Small problem when throwing. Suggestions would be welcome.

I am just a hobbyist and  having fun  throwing some small cups of 160g of cone 5 porcelain on my wheel. I can get the reasults to be pleasing enough but consistency in form is eluding me. However, one thing that is really baffling me is what is going on when I start forming the shape. I center then pull to a tall thin cylinder that I can just get two fingers inside of. My objective it's to flare out the cup just above the base and have it hold that shape all the way up so it looks like a small base with a pleasing parabola shape. I put two fingers inside and push out and the bottom works but as I move up the clay just flows around the fingers and doesn't stretch and I end up with a reverse hourglass as in the picture. 

I don't really want to thin the clay any more than needed at this point as I have already pulled tall so I don't pull the shape on both inside and out, just inside. Also I'd like to be able to scrape the slip outside with a wooden or silicone rib before I shape it so the outside is not slick anymore and touching it will make too much friction and destroy the cup. 

I also experience this when trying to shape larger cylinders. They come out nice enough but they don't do what I want them to do and they are inconsistent.

Suggestions would be appreciated.

IMG_0521.JPG

If you do your shaping pulls with one hand on the inside of the pot and a stiff rib on the outside, you'll have better control over the final shape. You need to be able to apply pressure on the outside of the pot, too. It'll take the slip off the outside, too.

Also, if you want the shape to be a bit more graceful, trim a narrower foot than the one you have. It'll create more of a shadow at the base of the pot, and give it a sense that it's hovering above the table. 

Edited to add: