Carving into clay

I am new to clay, both hand-building and throwing, and have been making images on pots in two ways- by painting in underglaze and by using commercially available texture mats and roller stamps.

I would like to learn to carve into the clay myself.  Can anyone recommend some good resource or resources to help me learn to do this?

I would be particularly happy for book recommendations.

There's really not much to it. Get yourself some mini loop tools and dental picks and go for it! It'll take some practice to figure out what level of dryness you prefer your pots to be at when carving, but middle leather hard is a good place to start. For best results, use a smooth clay body like a white stoneware or porcelain- anything without grog, sand or fireclay in it.

Thank you Neil, oldlady, and synj00.  I do have tools.

I was hoping for something on the order of the instructions one can find readily for relief carving in wood so that what one carves in is not just the equivalent of a line drawing with the lines dug in rather than drawn on.

I will start by looking for the book by Charles Counts.

Thanks, everyone.

oh gosh Gabby there is really nothing to carving in clay.  you have to try it yourself to see which kind you like. just make little tiles and experiment. try different things from your kitchen drawer.  

there are so many layers to be discovered. try carving in clay with various level of dryness and see which ones you prefer. i am going to try using clingwrap on wet clay so i dont have to deal with burs (or i hope i dont have to deal with them). i'll use a dull point to draw  on  the clay. 

i'd read as many books as you can lay your hands on. flip through them no matter how old because you'll always find a kernel that might teach you a new technique or change your thinking. there is no one book that covers it all.  like clay inlay or buncheong.