Kiln Foundation-If You Get It Wrong Use A Jackhammer

Mark C.

Years ago after needing to move some concrete I realized a 90# jackhammer was the way to go.You can rent them at a tool rental-comes with huge trailerable compressor and long hose and a real heavy jackhammer.

Thing is you need to weigh about 300#s to control it. I came up with a new way to keep it glued to the concrete,

This new technique takes awhile to get the hang of but you can get gravity on your side.If you where a gymnast in a former life this will help-I was not one by the way.

Looking back on this this may have been one of the many things that ruined my wrist.

Now I must add my usual do not try this at home disclaimer .

Mark

post-8914-0-23036200-1445794619_thumb.jpg

post-8914-0-23036200-1445794619_thumb.jpg

I love using a jackhammer. I use to use one when I work in construction. I used small handheld one and a big-boy. It was def hard to figure at first. And the guy that first taught me, clued me in, after I nearly lost my head, and he stopped laughing (that took a while). But once you know the trick it's ez pz. I could do it with one hand tied behind my back.

I have never photoshoped any of my photos kids. The leg is behind my body resting on that wisteria vine that is still there in same spot after 70 years.How else can one balance on a jackhammer upside down-This was a set shot that I had my friend shoot for me.

This was a old concrete porch I took out in late 80's

you can see it in this later decade photo of the new addition with a bronze working ships porthole offset in  mudroom next to front door.

Just for the record I have taken many many thousands of photos since the early 80's (mostly slides) and I have yet to photo shop much of anything except to add watermarks to some images.

I take a great pride in getting it right the 1st time or ttrash canning the image-Even now with all my Digital nikons SLRs I do not photoshop.