Triple beam or digital scale?

Kakes

I am just beginning down the road to mixing my own glazes. To that end I bought a whole bunch of chemicals & now realized I need a scale! Which is better in the ceramics studio, the old triple beam scales or a digital scale? And does price point matter?

This seems like a really basic question & so I did a search but nothing came up - maybe it's too basic :-/

thank you!

I was in the same boat - although I had a triple beam, so I started out using that, and then got a digital scale.

I suspect it's a matter of preference, but I'll never go back to the triple beam - it's not that I doubt the accuracy of the manual balance but the digital scale is SUCH a time saver, it's simply no contest. (Not to mention that the triple beams are much more expensive than digital.) 

I got two different digital scales from amazon, one for very tiny increments for making test batches, and one that can take more weight for mixing up big batches. Love em. I'd say just read reviews to make sure you're getting something good, and go for it. 

digital scale all the way

I used a triple beam (with tare weight )for 35 years never going back-I now have two digital scales(both will tare weight)

They speed up the whole process .Really a time saver.Give up on the triple beams.

I buy two of the same identical plastic tubs to use with them.That way you can do colorants and other materials without washing between.

I prefer the triple beam for the following reasons:

1.  I do no need to make glaze batches that require more than ~3 kilos of any ingredient. which means that I can always get to the necessary amounts in one weighing for each ingredient. 
  2.  The precision of the triple beam is adequate for all the batches I need, even for cobalt (which often needs ~half gram amounts) for 100 gram test batches.