Graphite drawing on clay

Tomás

I want to do fairly intricate graphite drawings on clay forms.  Does anyone know at which temperature the graphite can be fired without losing any detail or 'smudges?'  I am not a ceramic artist.  I imagine drawing on top of the bisque fired piece, then doing a light spray matte finish.  Am I wasting my time?  Thanks.

Will the spray can finish move the graphite as its air pressure moves the spray?You will have to test the graphite in a kiln at various temps to learn about it.

Only you can say if you are wasting your time

18 hours ago, Tomás said:

I want to do fairly intricate graphite drawings on clay forms.  Does anyone know at which temperature the graphite can be fired without losing any detail or 'smudges?'  I am not a ceramic artist.  I imagine drawing on top of the bisque fired piece, then doing a light spray matte finish.  Am I wasting my time?  Thanks.

Tomás

My answer is No! you are not wasting your time. 

Graphite will burn off in a typical bisque or glaze firing. Wikipedia chatter implies that the graphite ignition temperature is around 800 C.
However, it will not burn off at oven temperatures.  If you fired the substrate to a higher bisque temperature than normal, but still within the porous region, the surface will still be able to capture the graphite marks and the pieces will be stronger. 
If you are satisfied with the strength of the available bisque ware then just draw and then coat.

Finished with a thin spray coating of "water glass" (aka sodium silicate) followed by a thorough drying at oven temperatures should produce a non-smudging object. 

Try it.  That is the only way you will know for sure.

Your approach is essentially no different than the naked Raku, or horse hair Raku, or pit firing techniques where the marks are made by carbonizing.  You are just skipping the firing smoke and fuss.

Congratulations for thinking outside the typical pottery box. 
LT