Wadding...does it need to dry much before firing?

Jude

Hi I am new to participating in this forum. Have been using the site and your discussions to educate myself on all aspects of kilns, firing, glazes etc.

Just discovered "wadding" recipe (by John) and uses...wow!...so basic question...how dry does wadding between props and shelves need to be before firing? (low temp ...1080C)

Thanks so much for consideration and responses.

kindest thoughts across the waves and oceans in New Zealand

Jude

I've  seen where wads are placed one day (relatively fresh) then fired the the next day and in a few cases within a few hours..

most of the wood firings had a slow ramp

but great question!!

Physical water starts leaving at 212F    so if your being careful. Hold around there  or slightly higher, chemical at 1000f ish 

im curious because the wadding reipies ive used are a bit loose with organic material,  sawdust, rice hulls, coarse sand,  and nowhere near compressed , and rarely if ever more than  3/8 inch thick  ... I'm thinking the "looseness" of the wads allows water to escape in a non explosive manner.

i look forward to the leaned minds comments  

I think Biglou13 is correct about the slow ramp and "loose" nature of most wood fire wadding is correct.  I have done a couple minor preheats on propane just to get a little of the moisture out.  My wadding is usually 1/3 fireclay, 1/3 sand, and 1/3 organics (usually sawdust or wheat bran) so there is lots of ways for any moisture to move around.  I do make large cone packs from a version of the wadding with much more clay and I let those dry before firing. 

HI ALL.... I think I've been unclear...electric kiln...wadding mixture as follows from elsewhere on the forum..John I think..