Sign in to follow this  
gixxer22

Duncan Es 1029N Power Problem

Hi Im new here,Im hoping to find some advice on my duncan 1029 kiln,Ive only done 2 firings since i bought it, this kiln is giving me a headace, I have some knowledge of electrics so I do know how to use a multimeter, Paragon hasnt been much help,as there wiring diagram for this is usless as it doesnt show the 2 relays or the 2 cycle control modules, What this unit does, is to turn it on I must rotate the timer on, then push in the kiln sitter button, With both infinite switches on Off, the middle element and light are now on, the middle element cannot be turned off or regulated as its now getting full power from the sitter block , straight wiring from block. To candle a load I had to manually turn kiln on and off every 5 min.  Maybe  one of you tech gurus might be able to help with this ,can i wire the middle element into one of the controls of bottom element , or maybe just drill a hole in face plate and add an ifinite switch to control it.. And why does this kiln have relays as it seems redundant as the infinite switch can control how long the elements are on??  Randy

Sounds very confusing, when I had a quick google for the wiring diagrams it seemed to have three infinite switches with a two sectioned kiln, was I looking at the right one?

No kiln would be designed to have one element that came on full power from the start. It makes sense that all three elements would have infinite controls.

Do the relays somehow turn the middle elements on and off?  Did you buy this brand new because it sounds very odd from what I am reading.

I wouldn't wire it into an existing switch as then it could overload it.

Did someone try to install a controller for this kiln? The Paragon web site doesn't show anything but infinite switches.  Did you buy the kiln from Paragon?  More information is needed for this kiln and if it was modified then Paragon isn't responsible for it. You mentioned 2 cycle control??

David