Newbie Tweaking Flocculation

I'm new to glazing and mixing up my own glazes.  I've recently
been experimenting with a clear cone 6 electric base (5X5) with
added mason stain.  My intention is to dip.

I was just reading a Pete Pinnell article in which he states that,
"I need to flocculate almost all my glazes, if only just a little."

I can see extreme cases of over flocculation and deflocculation -
but how will I know if my glaze needs just "a little" as Pinnell
suggests lots of glazes do? 

I've watched the John Britt video.  The deflocculated glaze
clearly needs flocculated.  The over flocculated glaze, though,
doesn't look that much different to me than regular glaze.

Experienced potters can tell by looking and touching.  Is there
some measurement I can take to tell me if my glazes need a little
tweaking?

Casey

I think I have the opposite issue, a glaze that seems to be over flocked.  Thick in the bucket, adding water does not thin it, goes on thick, no matter how fast I dip, stays wet on the pot, runs a lot, is fluffy and loose when dry on the pot. 

Are these symptoms of over flocking?  How does a glaze get that way?   Other glazes I have used Epsom  salts in to cure settling and hard panning with good results, this glaze I am flummoxed with.

This seems to be a confusing question for lots of potters, and the articles don't seem to clear it up much.

I think I have the opposite issue, a glaze that seems to be over flocked.  Thick in the bucket, adding water does not thin it, goes on thick, no matter how fast I dip, stays wet on the pot, runs a lot, is fluffy and loose when dry on the pot. 

Are these symptoms of over flocking?  How does a glaze get that way?   Other glazes I have used Epsom  salts in to cure settling and hard panning with good results, this glaze I am flummoxed with.

This seems to be a confusing question for lots of potters, and the articles don't seem to clear it up much.

Post the recipe.

Here's the recipe:

20%  WOLLASTONITE