Bone Dry

Jodae

So as  beginner, I am going through the growing pains of not enough education in ceramics. My pots are really thick walled and heavy, just due to the learning process and insecurities with clay and its fortitude.  I have had many pieces "die" in the kiln due to many factors - air bubbles, not enough wedging... I have had the kiln operator at our local guild leave pieces out of the firing for me - thank god, due to the fact that they are not "Bone Dry". How important is the fact they are not "Bone Dry" before bisque firing and how do I tell if they are or not? Im new to my local climate, the other members tell me  their experience is about 1 week of drying time is good....But I am a scientist, love details and facts, figures, and would love a quick lesson on how to tell if the moisture in my clay has evaporated enough in order to go to bisque firing....

Thanks for any feedback for my "beginner" questions.

First, air bubbles and poor wedging do not make pots blow up in the kiln. Both will make it more difficult to center and pull the clay, but neither will cause explosions. The only thing that causes explosions in the kiln is moisture. Air only expands about 1.7 times as it heats up (if I remember right. Not much, anyway), which is not enough to blow apart the clay. But water turning to steam expands 1700 times, which is more than enough to blow it up. So yes, you do want your pot to be bone dry before it goes into the kiln.