How Long Should I "hold" My Skutt Kiln, While At The Highest Temp?

Marge

I have a Skutt with a kiln master controller. I've been firing to cone 6, but my cone (which I stick on my bottom shelf) is not bending to the correct angle. I think my glazes are not firing to their full potential. I'd like to make the kiln hold at the highest temp, but not sure how long. I read somewhere 20 min, but that seems like a long time. I have a bunch of test tiles and don't want to waste them...

Thanks a bunch!

Margie

Youn are going to have to experiment. there is no answer that fits all glaze situations. Try a 10-20 min hold .at the top of the ramp. Watch the cones through the peep hole then use the same ramp and hold that gives youn the best results.

The bottom shelf will most always be cooler than the top. You should be able to live with half a cone difference or use another glaze.

To help even out the temperature in the kiln, when loading your kiln put less mass in the cooler area. Put your taller pots there so there are more elements between shelves. If the middle of the kiln gets hottest then put your shallow pots there with the shelves closer together. I agree with Bob that you are going to have to experiment, put cones on all shelves, not just the shelves that have peeps until you know your kiln temp inconsistencies. 

Min

Min, that can be hard to do, if the thermocouple is in the center, it requires 2" above and below clearance, at minimum.  I also have the Skutt, 1027, and have worked hard to get semi even firings.