Hi Everyone, 

I'm a newbie potter & just set up my home studio,  I've just finished my first recycling of clay, which I wedged & put back into storage for throwing. Today when I opened my clay to wedge & throw I noticed black veins in my clay when I cut it. I figured I had not let my clay dry enough before I put in back in storage & hence mold appeared. I also noticed that the container which I store my throwing water in has a thick layer of black mold at the bottom.  I checked online on what to do to address this, but couldn't find clear guidance. Various forums state that Epsom salts or hydrogen peroxide would help, however I'm not sure how much I should use for what quantity of clay.  Would anyone here be able to advise me how to clear the mold from my throwing water & clay? I can't stand the smell 😕

I'm using a white stoneware clay body and approx 7 Kgs of Clay.  

Thank you in advance :)

Regards

Ruth

ah; the stink of reclaim! Yep, it’s gross. 

The black streaks are nothing to worry about. They don’t hurt the clay and it’ll burn out in the kiln. Don’t worry about trying to remove it from already wedged clay.  

For the throwing water, we’re probably going to tell you the same thing as Reddit and other replies on this forum. There isn’t really a measured amount or proportion of peroxide or bleach to add. Start off with a small splash, (a few tablespoons) and add more later if it still stinks. 
Some of that is because the quantity needed will depend on how much mould is in there, what you use and how mould friendly your conditions are. 

I wouldn’t use Epsom salts: I don’t think it’s particularly antibacterial. I favour peroxide because it breaks down into water, but if I don’t leave my reclaim sitting long, I don’t have to do it much. 

52 minutes ago, Magnolia Mud Research said: