QotW: What was your first exposure to Ceramics at more than a primary level

Hi folks, as all of you know, I was a HS art teacher for 36 years, taught a lot of Ceramics classes over the years, and saw a lot of students.  Just thinking back I remember my first experience with clay out of HS, as most of those were the standard pinch pot or coil piece and in Elementary school.  My HS experiences had all been flatwork, and one of the reasons I believed that an Art Education major should have a variety of media in their training, at not just an exposure level, but some level of proficiency. Looking back, I remember the first exposure I had to 3D media, and ceramics. . . it was an exploratory course of 3D media including ceramic. I made a ceramic box that ended up being a door stop. The teacher in the class was Stanley Zuchowski, who taught Ceramics at the little State College in northern PA.

QotW: What was your first exposure to Ceramics at more than a primary level, and who was the teacher that introduced you to Ceramics as a viable art medium?

I know this is a broad question, but I'm really looking for your best memories of Ceramics and of those people that influenced, motivated, and inspired you!

best,

Pres