glaze that settles rock-like quickly

grackle

did not finish

EPK  7

Bentonite  2

Glaze ingredients immediately settled into a rock, and no amount of stirring helped,, it just did the same thing!!  The ferro frit was 3110, a frit i have never used before, and wonder if that had something to do with it.  HOping someone can help.

2 minutes ago, grackle said:

HI all:  I mixed a new glaze sample today.  Have been looking for a good cone 5-6 white, and found this one on Glazy.   

Silica   31

Fer Frit  30

Custer feldspar  28

Whiting  14

EPK

1 hour ago, grackle said:

thing!!  The ferro frit was 3110, a frit i have never used before, and wonder if that had something to do with it.  HOping someone can help.

Usually if something has 10-15% clay the clay will help suspend. Sometimes up to 2% bentonite can help. The bentonite doesn’t really add to the fired glaze and 2% is often the practical limit. If you love this recipe, then likely magma, else you might just find a different composition. Getting as much of your necessary silica, alumina and fluxes from the clay can be argued as an efficient use of materials rather than using suspending agents. The 3110 is likely there for the boron to melt at cone 5/6.

Edited by Bill Kielb

I have tested 4 whites from Glazy.  And one from another source.  All of the whites were great on porcelain, white stoneware, speckled buff and light brown stoneware.  However I have only found one that seems to cooperate on dark brown (high iron) stoneware.  As @Min and @Callie Beller Diesel have asked, what do you want in a white and what clay are you using?  It has made a lot of difference in my tests.  And I try to find a glaze that is in a sweet spot on that UMF chart.