Slip colours

Complete newbie here  from Scotland.Interested in slip work.Is it possible to colour slip with paint ie acrylic or powder etc.I read to use oxide powder but I'm finding it extremely difficult to source a cheap solution as I want to firstly just experiment and try some slip decorating and to buy oxide powders in a variety of colours is very expensive and as I only need small amounts to experiment I wondered if paint or ink or paint powder etc can be used.

Hi Fiona,

Welcome to the Forum!

For colours, there may be some choices that are less expensive?

If making up your own slip from clays*, red, brown/buff and white are common colors.

Underglazes provide a somewhat inexpensive way to get a lot of color; they don't go on the same way slips do, but they do have their uses...

Stains may provide a way to add a few colors to your slip palette.
The per pound prices I'm seeing are $12-18 (US dollars).

At ceramic temperatures, metals persist and provide coloring.
Blue/Cobalt is expensive (but it's come down a lot).
Green/Copper is more reasonable.

Maybe start with just a few colours?

Paints typically have some titanium dioxide powder, which provide most of the paints' covering/hiding ability, and perhaps some metal oxide(s) for color.
It's all the other stuff, a lot of which will burn away in the kiln, likely including some of the dies that provide color that I'd hesitate over.
The resultant smoke and fumes from burning paints/inks are enough to advise against; how the materials influence the slips' behaviors could be of concern as well.

*I blend bits of clay with water using a blender.
It takes a while, but it works to get a smooth consistency.
Then I run the slip through a sieve to remove sand/grog.
I sometimes use red slip to decorate white and brown ware.
I brush, dab, et cetera the slip on when the ware is still damp - right after trimming.
The moisture softens the ware - timing and care can be important!