Tools For Clay Sculpting

Hi guys! I've recently gotten into clay sculpting but I've been very curious and interested in this type of art ever since I was introduced to it in elementary school. I loved it every time I had the chance to work with clay and for me it was like a filter to dispose all my hyperactive energy as a kid. So now as an adult I decided to reminisce on my childhood hobby and start it all over again. I know that I need some basic carving and sculpting tools to start with but I have no idea which ones will fit well with my experience level. These guys have some great clay tools to  offer (link to supplier removed by moderators) , but considering I'm a beginner I have little to no knowledge on which ones would be appropriate for me to start with. So please consider to jump in and shower me with your opinions which will be utterly respected!

Cheers

Hi Tony,

Welcome to the Forum!

Good question.
Depends on what you're making and how you go about it - you might start with a cut off wire, a set of sculpting/modelling tools, and perhaps a paddle, a set of rails and a roller.

You'll need a surface to work on and somewhere to put your in-progress work.
When you take a break, keeping the work from drying out may be important, so a spray bottle and coverings*.
Buckets are key to my process, water to work and clean up with, clear water for final hand rinse afore leaving the work area, another bucket for clay scraps that I'll let dry out for reclaim, yet another bucket for clay slop/slip - buckets!
Big sponges for clean up, small sponges for working with clay.

*cloths, plastic sheeting - something to slow down the drying.
I use rigid containers, inverted over each piece, which isn't a particularly popular approach - it works for me!