Cone 6 Studio Glazes for High School Classroom

Hello everyone!

I am a high school ceramics teacher and I am looking to mix a range of ^6 glazes for my high school ceramics studio. I am looking for glazes that are stable, consistent, and most importantly, do not run easily (to keep those kiln shelves clean!). I would like to have a range of glossy, matte, opaque, and translucent glazes. I am hoping to have around six-eight glazes that I can have in dipping buckets in my high school studio. We do not have a sprayer, so I would like to use glazes that look good brushed or dipped. I would like for the glazes to look good when layered together and also by themselves.

I have a background of mixing glazes, but am newer to using ^6 glazes and do not have a personal selection that I have tested.  I have been researching trusted sources such as Glazy.org and Digitalfire.com and have found some interesting recipes but it would be very helpful to hear from some people that already have a good range of glazes that work well together in a beginner ceramics environment. 

Would anyone be willing to share some ^6 studio glazes that meet what I mentioned above? I have read through many of these community posts and they have always been so helpful. 

Thanks in advance for any help or advice that can be offered. 

Caroline Ennis

Edited by Caroline Ennis

Here are a few glazes that we use in my studio that are very stable and consistent.

Butter is great on top of other glazes, and also looks good alone on brown speckled clay.

Harris Red is a great iron red glaze, tends to be the most red on brown bodies.

Runny White is quite stable on its own, but flows a bit on other glazes. Looks great by itself on speckled brown bodies or on top of just about anything.

S-4 Blue looks a lot like denim, has nice surface variation, and looks good on both white and brown clays, especially on speckled brown.

Spearmint is a nice green with good surface variation.