Shivering

Hi guys! I am new to pottery and keep experiencing issues. I have success when I bisque fire, and SOMETIMES success when I glaze fire. Sometimes I have shivering or crazing but not all the time, and I'm always using the same glazes. Which leads me to believe it's an error on my end or how I'm running the kiln. Anyways I spent days glazing these little owls and all of them came out shivering so bad and also they were matte and not shiny and the color is completely off. Something went wrong just not sure what. Any and all advice is appreciated again I am SUPER new at this so please be kind. I am using sax true flow ceramic glaze. 

Screenshot_20220711-181622_Photos.jpg

Edited by Dani dowling
To add a photo

Hi Dani and welcome to the forum.

18 minutes ago, Dani dowling said:

Anyways I spent days glazing these little owls and all of them came out shivering so bad and also they were matte and not shiny and the color is completely off. Something went wrong just not sure what. Any and all advice is appreciated again I am SUPER new at this so please be kind. I am using sax true flow ceramic glaze. 

Couple questions about your firing. Did you use witness cones on the shelf(ves) you fired the owls on? Manual kiln with a kiln sitter or electronic kiln?

The fact that they came out matte and not shiny (given you used a gloss glaze) would more than likely mean they are underfired. If this is the case you can refire them to the correct cone. 

21 minutes ago, Dani dowling said:

Sometimes I have shivering or crazing but not all the time, and I'm always using the same glazes.

If the glaze is underfired and immature it isn't giving you optimum results. If the glaze is fired to maturity and you are still getting either crazing or shivering that would mean the glaze doesn't fit the clay it's on. It is highly unusual to get both shivering and crazing of a glaze but it is possible to have an underglaze shiver and a glaze craze.