What causes glaze color variation?

MissyLee5

Hello, 

I am new at glaze making and trying to learn all I can on the chemistry behind it and glaze predictability. For now I am making glaze from formulas found online/in books (almost ready for my first test tile firing!), but once I have enough knowledge & experience I'd like to make my own formulas and tweak existing ones to create new effects. My favorite glazes are ones that break a different color over texture, or have color variations within them. What is it that causes each of these? Is it an ingredient, or the glaze chemistry?

I know rutile and titanium dioxide can give variegation like rivulets and pooling, but what about when different colors are within the glaze? I see this much more in commercial glazes, for example Mayco's Seaweed, Amaco's Aurora Green or Blue Hydrangea (pictured below respectively). Some glazes that seem more speckled or have focal areas of different color I assume are using sintered glaze sprinkles (is that the same as crystals?) for this, but others seem to more bloom colored areas (AG and BH), or where the color breaks or runs its a different color (Seaweed and the coveted Honey Flux). I've looked at the MSDS on these glazes for more ideas or possible reverse engineering (a habit from cosmetic formulation), but not all of the ingredients are listed. The MSDS for Seaweed shows 5-10% copper carbonate, 1-5% rutile and 1-5% zinc for colorants. The first 5 ingredients are water, feldspar, frit, neph sy, and gillespie borate. It also shows 5-10% silica and 1-5% hydrated aluminum silicate. I found it interesting all the potter's choice glazes use gillespie borate since I believe it's no longer available.