Texas talc versus CT-30 cal talc ?

Beebop

Hi all! 

six months ago i bought my first batch of materials for making test batches of glazes. this included 1 lb of talc. the local supplier only lists 1 type of talc on their website, Texas Pioneer, however the talc i got in December was white and the hand written label said CT-30 cal talc. is this Montana talc? Calcined? i can’t find this name in Glazy and Digitalfire only has a place holder for it, not much more. My receipt listed it as Texas Pioneer, so I didn’t think much of it and thought that the standard talc must be white calcined Texas talc. 

Fast forward 6 months and i’m out of talc. i just bought 5lbs  from the same supplier, opened the bag and it’s dark grey! I gasped! This I’m assuming is the Texas Pioneer.

But how does it compare chemically to the other talc i’ve been using for 6 months? Is this grey talc only used for ceramics bodies or is this a normal ingredient for glazes? The talc materials listings in Glazy are all white powders not grey.

i will also mention that i am a big fan of magnesium in glazes. i’m spending a lot of time trying to make ^6 kakis and magnesium mattes so i want to make sure i’m using materials that are reliable and consistent! are they considerably different, and if so, which would you recommend and why?  i feel like this just added another six months of testing to get to where i thought i was already! 

I will call the supplier and ask tomorrow, but Ive found them to be hit or miss when asking for precise info,  so hoping y’all can help me out!