Slip Casting - Plaster Ratios

Hey there.

Im a newbie here. Ive been working on creating some slip casting molds and I've had some mixed results. 

My troubles mostly have to do with mixing the plaster. Ive read Andrew Martin's Mold making and slip casting book but I refuse to use his plaster formula which uses metric, imperial, volume, AND weight. 

I've attempted to convert the formula several times now and I'm feeling pretty silly as I cant seem to get the results I'm looking for. 

I am using a NEW bag of #1 pottery plaster. 

Ive attached am image of a calculator I made in Sheets but my ratio is 2.25 Quarts H20: 6.75lb(Andrew Martin formula). I'm Canadian so I want this in metric and converted it. 2.13L(Water) 3.06Kg (plaster)

I sift my plaster into the water and let it slake for 3 minutes. I mix with a drill/paint mixer for 3 minutes. I tap to release air bubbles. I carefully pour into my mold. I've found that the consistency of the plaster is think, like lightly whipped whipping cream. It pours and sets into the piece I'm casting but mounds at the end. My plaster is hard after 12 minutes. 

After a week of drying I wet the mold and poured slip. I let it sit for 15 minutes then drained. I waited 2 hours and checked the casting, it was still too soft so I held off opening the mold. I came back 7 hours later to open the mold. The casting was 1/8" think and ripped in half when I opened. 

Based on Andrew Martins formula (calculate the cubic volume for water and x3 for the amount of plaster) and my results I'm thinking this formula is broken in some way. And Im at a loss as this happened 3 times so Im asking you smart and lovely people. 

If this has been covered or if I've posted in the wrong section please let me know as Im new here :) 

Thanks, mv

Screen Shot 2021-04-28 at 2.46.19 PM.png