Ceramics in a sauna?

I'm a product designer developing a line of water vessels to be used in traditional Finnish sauna. The intent is to come up with alternatives to the traditional wooden sauna bucket and ladle. I haven't done any pottery or ceramics  work myself, but it seems like a material worth investigating for this application. My main concerns are durability, and how hot the material would feel for a user in a 200 °F sauna.

My initial thoughts (all of which may be incorrect, so forgive me):

• A relatively lightweight, porous material like terracotta would feel cooler to the touch, depending also on the temperature at which it's fired.
  • A porous container that slowly leaches water would be acceptable in this application, since the sauna is already a wet environment -- and that water might help keep the vessel remain cool to the touch.
  • Glazes, being of a higher density and therefore more thermally conductive, would feel hotter. 

Does anyone have any information that might be helpful as I start this exploration? Specifically, I'm interested in the types of clays that would be appropriate here, durability relative to firing temperature, and the possibility of glazes or other surface treatments that would not leave the vessel too hot to handle at 200 °F.

Thank you for indulging someone who knows almost nothing and wants to know everything.

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If I understand correctly, you are asking:

Touch a piece of wood, then touch a piece of ceramics.  If both have lived in the same room for a period of time, one will feel colder than the other at normal "room temperature".

If when they get hotter, does that relationship of "feel"change?

Is it likely to change sufficient that a ceramic pot could cause injury or merely distress?

9 hours ago, cdub said:

My initial thoughts (all of which may be incorrect, so forgive me):