Looking for Help! I glaze fired stoneware mugs to cone 6. The clear glaze is has come out rough instead of shiny. Worried they won't be food safe?

Steph123

Hello!

I'm pretty new to ceramics so looking for advice!  I have glaze fired stoneware mugs to cone 6. (1220 C) The clear glaze  has come out with a rough to touch texture instead of glossy/smooth. I applied 3 coats and it looks evenly distributed just that it feels rough.

The rest of the colours I used have turned out glossy.  I glazed the inside of the mugs with  'Vitraglaze Stoneware Glaze: Shiny Transparent' 

The mugs are for a friend and my main concern is that they won't be food safe? How do I stop this happening again?  Would appreciate any advice. 

Best, 

Steph

Hi Steph!

While waiting on replies, could you post pics and identify the clay you used?

My guess - given the liner glaze is not crazed (cracked), and the layer is not interrupted, it should be ok, although a bit more difficult to clean.

From there, do you think the liner glaze is thinner than the outside/colored glaze layers? My observation, when (some) mid fire clays are a bit overfired, and weep tiny droplets, a thicker glaze layer incorporates them ok, where a thinner layer does not. These rough particles, on close examination (with magnification; my vision isn't great) - those on the unglazed foot ring - appear smooth, like a droplet, and can be scraped off.

Another theory you may consider: a sanded and/or grogged clay can feel rougher after glaze firing, as the "clay" portion shrinks, whilst the particles do not. Using an edge - typically, a rib - to smooth the clay can help, as the particles are driven in, and the "cream" coaxed to the top, rather like finishing concrete, where the gravel (or gravels, depending, eh?) are not discernable at the finished surface.