QotW: How has your  work progressed in terms of thickness and shape(s)?

Hulk recently asked in the QotW pool: 

How has your  work progressed in terms of thickness and shape(s)?

Several folk have worked toward thin/light sections, then moved away from the extreme for strength, durability and feel. Just into my third year, I have turned away from thin, for the most part. 

I have over the years done much of what Hulk has said, first pushing myself for thinner, lighter pieces. As a beginner, I had to learn to get the most out of the bottom of the pot on the first few pulls, and to keep the walls consistently thinner as the pot got talle, until the thickening of the lip. As I started teaching HS students about throwing I went through a lot of introspection of my own throwing to discover what I did differently from a beginning thrower so that I could tip the scales in their favor. The beginning of a pull is soo important, whereas most would think it is later in the pull. 

Recently though, I have found that I still like to throw light, but am more concerned with surface, texture, form. I also find that form follows function, and weight supports function. For example, lately I have been making 10# floor vases. I could make them 6 or 7 # for the same size, but prefer to make them 10#. . .mainly because it is a lot harder to knock over a 10# vase than an a 6# vase. As for function, the earlier jars I was giving as vases had too large a neck and base to control the flowers. The newer ones have a narrow s curve shape with a base of decent diameter that controls any flowers placed in it without having to have them tied together to control them. 

So, once again. . and thank you Hulk for posting the question.

QotW: How has your  work progressed in terms of thickness and shape(s)?

best, 

Pres