Peter Pugger VPM 9 cap leaves green particles

Marge

I've been using my new Peter Pugger  VPM 9 for a few months now. The clay that first extrudes from my pug mill always has green particles on it.  It's obviously left from the cap when I take it off of the clay as it extrudes. I have contacted the company who said it may be a reaction from the clay I'm using as it comes into contact with the cap and to stick that clay back in the pug mill. The clay with any green on it does not burn off but stays green on my pots. It's almost solid pieces of green that I can pull off of the clay.  Has anyone had this issue, or have any advice? Thanks!! --- Margie

funny you mention this as my VPM 30 CAP LEAVES A BLUE COLOR in center of pug where it touches the rubber cap. This is withn cone 10 porcelain and always burns away in bisque and is never seen again. I fire to cone 11 in reduction. You did not mention what clay  you are using or temps you fire to?

Its an oxidation thing I feel and cuases me no worries.-Afew photos of this gren on fired wares may help us.

I use white stoneware and fire to cone 6.  I've thrown away my finished pieces where the green shows through my glossy white.  I will finish a piece with the green flecks on it and try with a different glaze. It's just strange that the pieces feel hard and can be peeled off of the clay that is pugged. Thanks!

48 minutes ago, Min said:

Very odd that the green doesn't fire out. Plastic clay bag held on with with a piece of elastic instead of the cap or just lining the cap with a bit of plastic to make a barrier between the cap material and the clay should fix it.

GREAT IDEA

3 hours ago, Magnolia Mud Research said:

Or you could make a ceramic cap to cover the end of the extruder.  

My speculation is that the cap is galvanized -- which means the cap is coated with Zink; back in the 'good old days,' Zinc chunks were thrown into the kiln to make green bricks.  

LT