Creating a booth for the first time

Newbie here! I'm struggling with setting up my first booth! Ugh! I make small sculptures that look best if seen at or about eye level. Folks have suggested pedestals or risers on tables. I've created some rough ones from foam core, but need to make sturdier ones from wood.  Because my 'guys' are small I need some ideas to make them pop.  Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

I would like my booth to look more like a gallery than a craft booth and I'm starting out with black fabric covered metal panels (better design for framed artwork). These are not sturdy enough for me to hang shelves from without worrying about things being knocked off. 

Any and all suggestions and recommendations!

scuplturesphoto.jpg

Nothing wrong with foam core risers! If you cut and construct them cleanly, they will work just fine. You want people to look at your work, and not notice the risers at all. Foam core will also be a lot lighter than wood. When you’ve been doing shows for a while, you start looking for ways to make things lighter. There will always be more than enough heavy lifting to do at shows.

No matter what you choose to build your risers out of, design them so they pack flat!

Since your items are small, I would suggest a booth layout that is more like a jeweler’s booth than a potter’s booth. Jewelers don’t need as much display space. They tend to put part of their display across the front of their booth, so passers-by will see the small work close up without needing to enter the booth. 

4D1B7B41-772C-43CD-88CA-1E66B190F10D.jpeg.315a876c7203f18d58c500dca891ec6f.jpeg

Thank you, all for the advice. My concern with the foam core risers is damage, but I'm thinking I may cover them with fabric or carpet, something that will not fray when cut, but the idea of having them fold up is great ( I have a photo tent that is completely collapsible with velcro on each side &  that is a great product)