Kiln Sitter Shut Off Before Full Fire

Alexis K

Hi everyone!

I am an art teacher and am new to the firing process. I have the AMACO Standard Economy Electric Kiln (EC-55). kiln. The kiln sitter I have is the model LT-3 (I attached a picture of the kiln sitter that I have).

I did a bisque fire last night with the pieces that were made from lowfire earthenware clay. The clay can be fired from 06-04. I used cone 05 and and set the timer on the kiln sitter to 12 hours. This morning I walked in and the dial seems to have stopped at 6 hours instead of firing for the full 12 hours. I am not sure what the problem could have been.

Do you think I should re-fire the pieces for an additional 6 hours with a new cone? I don't know if they would be okay to glaze or not because it did not fire for the full amount of time. 

Thanks!

post-1594-12722496040703.jpg

Hi Alexis!

That kiln sitter looks just like the unit on my old Skutt (new in 1988). The drop switch - as I'm sure you a'ready know - is actuated by the softening of the cone.

Typically, the timer is set to a value greater than the expected firing time; if the drop switch fails for some reason, the timer will shut down the unit*. 

Hence, either will shut you down - both have to be on to run, but both don't have to be off to shut down, make sense?

The timer can "get" you either way! If

a) it's taking longer than expected to reach the desired cone, firing incomplete, else

b) the drop switch fails for some reason, overfired.

*Please don't depend on the timer to shut down an unmonitored kiln!

...suggested that kiln sitter equipped units be closely monitored (I'll be monitoring ANY kiln)!

Pyrometers aren't terribly expensive - provides a continuous reading (be sure to compare against cones).

Place cone packs in your kiln - after a few firings, you'll have it all down!

Thanks! I am still confused as to whether or not I should fire the pieces again and if they are indeed under fired or over fired.