Help with using a Duncan Automatic Teacher-Plus Kiln

Hello folks! I received a Duncan kiln from a family member about 7 years ago and was never taught how to use it. I attempted to figure it out on my own, but gave up because I was having too much trouble with it. I have never operated a kiln on my own- only seen electric kilns in use. 

Has anyone operated this particular kiln (DA820-2), and if so, could you answer a few questions for me?

• I believe I was having trouble because I did not have any pyrometric cone/bar things to turn off the kiln when it reached the right temp (clearly I'm a newbie). In the manual I have for my kiln, it says I need 'ASD' cones.  If my kiln fires to Cone 8, which cone of pyrometric bars do I need ? Does it always depend on the clay's cone?
  • Where do I place these ^ cones when I have them? Is there a hole in the bars that slides onto the knob on the inside of the kiln wall?
  • Do I need to have witness cones + the ASD cones? 
  • After each firing, do I need to have new witness cones? 

Thank you!!

Natania 

IMG_3445.jpg

IMG_3446.jpg