Black and white ink spot/oil spot copycat?

potter.y

Hi guys!

I was wondering if anyone might have leads on mixing a glaze similar to these:

larger.jpg.f05a810e8753abfa71a19ef8766c345e.jpgmaycojunglegemsglazeinkspots.jpg.b5e76ed612ba79843d2b234a44f2a823.jpg
The first glaze being a Albert Montserrat oil spot glaze, and the second being Mayco's "ink spot" glaze (which is classified with their jungle gems/crystals collection). I am more interested in the second glaze as it looks a bit more achievable. (Are oil spot glazes and crystal glazes even in the same realm?!)

I'm fairly new to mixing my own glazes and am pretty stumped by this one, but am obsessed with the "composition notebook" pattern.

Thanks for any help!

E

It is the cover glaze over the iron saturate glaze that must be put on extremely thick. "...apply to an almost unbelievable thickness of 1/8 - 1/4 inch (3-6mm)." John Britt from his ^6 glaze book.

I spray the iron glaze then pour the cover glaze. The cover glaze is mixed to a specific gravity of 1.65 - 1.70, very thick.

You must be brave to apply this much glaze. It works. Some of the globules that are created and dangling will come off if handled roughly. I had one on the bottom of a handle. I touched it and it broke off. It was hollow inside. 

2 hours ago, Marcia Selsor said:

you should get on the chat group of Exploring Midrange glazes with John Britt. They just did these types of glazes.

Marcia

Oh! Are you referring to a special chat group online related to the book or the book itself (interestingly, I just received this book in the mail from Amazon. Serendipitous).