Bisque temp for raku

Hi all,

Im very excited to be making a raku kiln, now I'm new to this method so will be firing some raku Q's at you all.

Be prepared for some daft ones!

• first up, Is there an ideal temperature to fire a stoneware clay to bisque if wanting to do a raku glaze firirng?
  • Has anyone a glaze recipe for a beautiful blue or green, or is there a good resource for raku recipes somewhere?

Thats it for now, be warned I may be back!

Julia

3 minutes ago, William K Turner said:

You should never bisque for raku above cone 06.  I bisque to cone 09.

Raku Art Inc.

Really?  Why is that?

I usually go to 04 with mine, and have had no issue.  The reason I do so, is because I go to 04 for my main classroom clay, and it doesn't make much sense to do a separate firing for the few Raku projects we do. 

Denise,  I have used stoneware, for Raku as well.  The school district, where I learned the process, fired to Cone 5, for most projects, prior to me starting there.  So it made sense, to use the same clay for  our Raku firings, if the same  clay body would work, which it did.  So I stuck with that same approach.  

The stoneware body worked well, the same reason that specific Raku bodies work, they are intentionally underfired.  This is what allows them to handle the thermal shock associated with the process. 

In a matured ceramic body, the particles are locked together, which is great when you are making functional wares, thay don't seep liquids,  but bad for something that has to tolerate quick/ dramatic temperature changes during the firing.  That locked ceramic structure is not good at quickly transfering energy from one part to the next. So the expanding and contracting that happens, leads to cracks/ dunting.  This is why you are not supposed to put a glass or ceramic casserole from the fridge into a hot oven.