New potter, health concerns

Hi all,

I've been making pottery for 7 months (self taught). I have my own set up in my garage (electric kiln is vented to outside, CO monitor). I have read countless writings on studio & glaze hazards. I am quite particular with my routine and only wet mop areas and wear gloves & mask whenever near chemicals or stirring up dust. I am currently going through a body detox for heavy metal poisoning and I'm doing well with

that regimen. However, a recent test is showing excessive levels of thallium and this is new for me. The only change in my habits has been my pottery. Have any of you ever been tested for

any toxic substances? If so, what kind of results did you receive? My main concern is my health, of course, & I love working with clay, but I will give it up if I need to do so. My concern

is with glazes. Right now, I am using dry Coyote glazes I mix myself (with every precaution) & only a very few ( a clear, a white, light blue, shino). I certainly don't want to poison myself any further.

Are there any less toxic glazes I can mix and make myself? I do understand there are risks involved but I'd like to minimize them. I don't usually post on forums, but I find all of you so talented, kind, supportive, and hugely knowledgeable. I could use some sage advice & I really don't want to take up knitting. smile.gif

Thanks so much!

Pam