VIVID BLUE UNDERGLAZE

AlexDaCat

I am a university student in my final year and am doing Independent Studies for Ceramics. I need to make a vivid blue and turquoise blue (like a peacocks colour) but have not been able to make it by mixing Deep Blue with other colours. Please see image of bird below for the colour required particularly the body and tail colours.

Can anyone suggest the right colour combination for this? The colour of deep Blue is perfect before I add glaze, as the glaze changes the colour to a very dark blue. 

Or... Is there a vivid blue available already made? I am using Cesco brush on Underglaze.

Thank you for any assistance...

Alexandra

malebluewren.jpg

Hi Alexandra!

Please specify temperature you'll be firing to, your glazes (over the underglaze, if any), and the clay(s) you'll be using?

That said, Amaco's "Electric Blue" might be close, depending on the temp; "Vivid Blue" Mason stain might be close as well.

The third stripe from the right is 10% mason stain 6305 Teal blue in a white stoneware clay base. This test is at cone 6, but the colour was the same on bisque. The second stripe from the right is 2% cobalt oxide in that same white stoneware clay base, but notice where it’s glazed, there are speckles. If you don’t want the specks, you could try using cobalt carbonate (use a percentage more), or you could grind your oxide. I didn’t.  

I don’t think the base matters a whole lot, as long as it’s a pretty white canvas to hold colourants. 

36B2A720-73CE-4A2F-ADAA-DFE2EA33398F.jpeg

i have nothing to contribute except a thank you for the fabulous bird photo.   what is it?    if it is common in the UK, why did you guys bring sparrows over here to overpopulate  and spread but not this one?      oh.   i know.   you like the blue one and don't want to share.

Sometimes, one has to look outside the standard ceramic "cookie jar" for a decorative finishing materials and techniques.