More New Kiln Advice: Size And Shape

Hi All,

I need to decide between 3 models of L&L electric kiln: The E23T-3 and E28S-3 are both just under 7 cubic feet, and the E28T-3 is just over 10 cubic feet.  So the first issue is size, and to get some advice on that I think I have to describe the situation around here.  So:

I'm an "obsessed amateur" getting back into pottery after a 10 year hiatus (for graduate school and procreation).  It could be just me throwing pots on the weekends, occasional evenings, and all summer (as a teacher I have summers off -- a good gig), or it's possible that my wife and/or two kids will get into it as well.  Certainly my wife will at least dabble.  The kids are getting on towards teenager-hood, so they're wildcards.

I'm leaning towards the smaller kilns because I don't want to end up in a situation where I only fire very infrequently -- I think you learn more from regular firings.  But I also don't want to end up firing so often it becomes a hassle, regretting that I didn't go bigger.  (I realize that this is an impossible question, but since I have to answer it anyway, I'll be happy to have any input.)

The second issue is shape.  If I go for a smaller kiln, then I can either get a "tall" one -- the E23T-3 is 27 inches deep ( 3 sections) and 22 3/8 inches in diameter -- or a "short" one -- the E28S-3 is 18 inches deep (2 sections) and 28 inches in diameter.  My inclination is to go tall to have the option of firing something that's more than 16 or 17 inches high, but on the other hand my back has 51 years on it, and perhaps the shorter kiln has chiropractic advantages.  And maybe they fire differently, or have other pros and cons that I'm unaware of.

Let me know what you think, if you have an opinion, and thanks in advance.

- Hy