Having A Kiln Outside ?

Hi there,

I'm a real newbie to ceramics, I just finished my first project, a black porcelain sake set: http://www.dontstareatthesun.com/work/yozakura/

and I'm going to start working on new projects, so I'm thinking of investing in a kiln.

but! I do not have a basement nor an extra room I could use. I was thinking of getting a small test kiln to put in my kitchen (which has no door and is open to the living room where I work most of the time) but I've been told it would not safe.

now, I do have a backyard, would it be possible to have a kiln outside ? I searched this forum and googled in order to find some answers, it seems some people do it but I still don't know if it's ok to do that.

I mean, would it be ok when it snows and rains ? what about when it's super hot during the summer ? would the changes of temperature outside the kiln be an issue ?

I don't even know if my landlord would be okay for me to have a kiln outside but before I ask him I want to make sure it would actually be an option.

thanks for reading!

You need to protect it from the weather one way on another. Tarp works if you know the weather forecasts ahead of time.

The ambient temperatures do not have much influence on the kiln, but below freezing may have some affects on you ware if damp.

I had kilns outside in Montana with no problems.They were under a roof on a back yard patio for 10 year. I moved to south texes and my small test kiln rusted in a month. I am still firing it after 7 years.It is in a cinderblock kiln shed.

Marca