Purchasing a kiln for home studio use

Hello, 

I am fairly new to ceramics and (hoping) to purchase a kiln for home studio use, but have no idea what is best.. so hoping for some advice on what may be best to get! 

I understand the voltage needs to be lower (I think what I have read is around 120 Volts for it to be compatible for normal home electricity usage?), it will have to be a fairly small size for me too although may be scope to have a larger one. 

I am slightly unsure of the health-and-safety pointers to look out for when thinking of having one at home too. Iv read the room needs 'proper ventilation' but not sure if having it in a separate room with a window will be enough to suffice. Does anyone know what health and safety tips I should be aware of when choosing, setting up and running? 

Does anyone have any knowledge on types of kilns/ makes/models that may suit home-usage a bit better? I usually fire stoneware up to cone 8. I also have a budget of £800. so not sure if this is even enough money to purchase one- so was hoping to look second hand! 

Thank you very much in advance- appreciate any advice! 

Hi B.H., Welcome to the Forum!

Good questions.
Excepting small/test kilns, expect your kiln to be rated for 240v, single phase*.
Also expect to run a dedicated circuit for your kiln.

Firing clays and glazes produces fumes. Adequate ventilation is a must, in my opinion.

To fire cone 8, a kiln rated to at least cone 10 will last better than a lower rated kiln.

There are several archived threads here where some of your questions are discussed at length; I'll look later today, have to run just now!

*Not sure what the electric standard/convention is in Southampton.
Here in California (USA) we have 240v single phase at our home. Three phase is typically only found in commercial buildings...