Etsy vs Shopify

The gift shop/gallery brick and mortar store I where have sold my functional pottery for the past 10 years is no longer an option.  I  have participated in one or two juried art festivals a year (minus the COVID years). The art festivals are profitable but a lot of work.  Opening an online store is something I am considering. As a retired art teacher, I sell my pottery as a "hobby with income",  so I am not looking for high volume. I sell my pottery mostly because I truly enjoy working on the potter's wheel.  If I can recover my costs and create a healthy vacation fund I am happy.  I would appreciate opinions on Etsy vs Shopify, or any other online options.

Online stores aren’t less work than doing festivals or fairs, they’re just a different kind of work. Certainly less physical labour in terms of not having a booth to set up or tear down. But you have to be good at figuring out software, taking images and promoting yourself online somehow. Some people are really good at making social media connections, some people would rather have a root canal than play games with the algorithms.

As far as my personal opinion on Shopify vs Etsy goes, they’re comparing apples to oranges. Etsy is an online marketplace, and Shopify is a website building platform like Squarespace or weebly. You don’t go to Squarespace expecting them to drive traffic to you. But I’m not of the opinion that Etsy does a stellar ob of driving traffic to a given seller, and they change their SEO requirements frequently enough that no one can really make a consistent living off of it.