Can I bisque fire twice?

Byrd

Im new to ceramics. I recently purchased a used Duncan kiln and did my first bisque fire today.  The instructions in the owners manual stated that bisque ware should be fired in low for two hours, then turned up to high for the remainder of the firing. I aimed for cone 04/05 for this firing.

After firing at low for two hours, I turned the kiln up to high. An hour or so later I checked my self supporting cone and it had melted, and the kiln sitter had shut the kiln off.

I was reading online that a bisque firing can take anywhere from 8-12 hours. Mine only lasted 3.5 hours from start to finish. Looks like I reached the goal temp way too fast. Is it necessary try to bisque fire again? Or can I move on the a glaze fire, since the pieces did technically reach out goal temp? Not sure how to move forward with these pieces. 

I’ve never done a bisque firing, but it seems that in the future I should have a more gradual step up to goal temp. 

thank you!

Hi Byrd,

Welcome to the Forum!

Good question.
Making it through a fast bisque with no damage, that's a win - if the ware went in damp, a quick ramp up past 212°F could be problematic (pro BOOM atic)!
From there, thinner ware should be happier with a short bisque than thicker ware, same for "cleaner" clay, for one of the objectives is to burn out organics/combustibles, which takes longer for thicker ware, and can take longer for "dirtier" clay.

If the wares are thick, if you're using red, brown, or black clay, a more thorough bisque might help - testing will tell, hard to say...

My typical bisque runs about eight hours, however, I'm ramping up to about 200°F the night before, then skipping the initial warm up (to drive off moisture) the next day. I hold at about 1500°F for at least half an hour, which I've found helps burn out stubborn gassy bits, direct kiln vent running throughout - ample oxygen for the burn out.

See second paragraph:
Bisque (digitalfire.com)

Edited by Hulk
if