Confused Newbie w/new Skutt 818-3

I am a complete newbie to ceramics. I saw a mosaic tile project on stairs that I loved and wanted to duplicate for a backyard project and signed up for a week long intensive tile making class - I learned how to make and glaze the tile but the school took care of all the firing. Though they talked to us about the firing, we weren't involved in the process at all, but it seemed like it was something I could learn - especially as I researched kilns and saw that Skutt's had a touchscreen and pre-programmed settings - for what I'm making I only need to fire to cone 04 and cone 5 and will be using the same type of clay the school used. Maybe some day I will branch out - but this was to get me started on my project.

Fast forward to this week - the kiln arrived. We set it up and I did the test fire with the 04 cone on each of the 3 shelves - I ran the default 04 program and some 30 hours later (firing and cooling) I check the cones and all 3 are curved over with just the tips touching the shelves - I know they should be at 90 degrees.  Then I realize the default program was firing at "slow" not medium - not knowing anything about anything (maybe I jumped into this endeavor too soon with too little knowledge) I thought I would try the cone 5 with some test tiles I had glazed.  (For tile making you paint the raw clay, fire to cone 5, then do the detail work and fire to 04).  Those cones never even budged. I put an 04, a 5 and a 6 - the 04 bent slightly (maybe 1/4" and the 5 and 6 didn't bend at all, just turned white.

My monitoring app said the kiln reached the proper temperature in both firings so I don't know why the cones didn't respond like expected and while I can call Skutt and have them walk me through some things I'm at work today and until the weekend I won't be home with the kiln during business hours - so I thought I'd start some research on my own.