HobbyCeram Prisma kiln (Italian made)

Mike-H

Hi

Does anybody have any experience of repairing these kilns?

The company is in Milan, but not responding to emails & the UK subsidiary listed, has closed!

I’m looking at ordering & fitting a replacement element set, but they are held in (possibly) ceramic u-shaped strips, which do not seem to want to move!

Any advice gratefully received!

Mike

87FF9496-D360-4F20-99FB-8D4E5F0E340F.jpeg

Did a little searching, and in their catalog the ceramic pieces are listed as 'Element Covers', so I'd think they would pull out somehow. I don't see how you could change the elements otherwise. Plus that transition slot between the two rows in each section indicates that the elements are installed from inside the kiln.

Hi Nick

I’m a repair engineer & I was called to this kiln today.

I’ve attached 2 photos to show the covers.

I think they are U-shaped & not sealed in, but they did not move when I tried to wiggle them out with a thin screwdriver. 
It was marking the fire bricks rather than moving out.

All the corners were mitered (60degrees?) which stopped them moving out.

Also from what little I could see, the element was sitting IN the U shape. But as they are so tight, one strip couldn’t come out with the next ones coming out at the same time … which looks impossible to me!

HobbyCeram have not responded, so I don’t know if I can get replacement elements anyway.

Regards

Mike

11F39E86-A56E-42E7-B7A7-C84EAF4D5646.jpeg

45F1021F-7932-45FD-8533-28FE8707B704.jpeg

Yes, the ends of the 4 element sections terminate through the firebricks & into in screw connectors behind the connection case.

I too saw them in the 2021 catalogue at €4.50 each!

Maybe I’m just being a bit too gentle with them?

Also max temp is 1260°C.

13 minutes ago, Mike-H said:

The only access is as thick as the wire thickness, not the coil diameter.

Italian magic, eh?