New at Pottery- confused and need help please

Hello! I am attempting to make small mugs as a gift and am hoping I can find some help with the process and general troubleshooting. I am planning on a finished product that is food-safe, has no color (but shine from the overglaze), and that has some overglaze decals applied (bacon and eggs!). Here's what I've completed so far (please forgive me for any mistakes or errors, as this is my first project with my own kiln): 

1. Formed the mugs out of clay, let them dry until they seemed bone dry, and fired them. I accidentally put a cone 6 instead of 06, and let them fire for about 8 hours on low. The setter still didn't drop at this point, so I turned it off and left the lid on for at least 8 hours. Per manual instructions, the lid was vented for the first few hours and the bottom peep hole was plugged. When I opened the lid the next morning, they seemed fine. 
  2. Painted the mugs with overglaze (3 layers) and let dry for two days. Per instructions from my kiln manual and overglaze bottle, I fired them on low with a cone 06. My interpretation of the kiln manual meant that it would take around 3 hours for it to fire before the kiln setter dropped. Again, per manual instructions, I left the lid vented for the first 2 hours. However, it went for about 10 hours and then I turned it off myself and waited another 8 hours to open the lid. This time, when I opened the lid, I expected the mugs to have a shine to them from the overglaze, but instead they were just chalky. When I put it back down, I had chalky residue on my hands.