White and blue

Jminahan

Hello I'm new to using anything other than store bought glaze. An old friend gave me some bags of cobalt oxide used for Delftware but didn't tell me how much powder for how much water. I was hoping someone could tell me where a good starting point is for experimentation. 

Hi J!

Cobalt is a powerful colorant; my bluest glaze calls for 1.6% (by weight) Cobalt Carbonate.
Cobalt Oxide is somewhat stronger than the Carbonate form - less weight is required to achieve the same color concentration.

Perhaps you are looking to wash or stain, then glaze over?
There are some recipes/guidelines for preparation and use of washes here somewhere. Check out Mark's bowls:
Lettering a marriage crock - Studio Operations and Making Work - Ceramic Arts Daily Community
You might try some test tiles afore marking up something you are/were invested in.

...any road, be careful with that stuff! It's expensive, and it's a metal as well.
I don't remember which version is more soluble. Try not to breathe or eat it, and careful handling it - it might show up down the road, heh, a little can go a long way.
For sure avoid the fumes from the kiln.

Hi and thank you for responding. I was told that a little goes a very long way but I never was told how little. And I was also planning on some test tiles but I was hoping to do as little experimentation as possible so your first answer is great to hear and I'll start around there. Thank you so much. 

do you know the size of the bags?   cobalt oxide is one of the most expensive colorants there is.   if the bags are unopened maybe you can trade them for a lot of other colors, there are lots of potters in the LA area.  check local prices at your dealer.

Edit- Turns out I have a small bad of cobalt oxide and a small bag of cobalt carbonate.