Ceramics books for a newbie

Dear all,

I am very happy to have found this forum. It has been the best resource  I have found. I  am truly amazed by how generous several of you are with your time and knowledge contributing here. 

Besides this forum and the "Youtube University" , would you have any recommendations for essential books that I should read/study?

These are the one I am studying so far:

The Workshop Guide to Ceramics by Duncan Hooson and Anthony Quinn 

Amazing Glaze by Gabriel Kline

and Mastering the Potter's Wheel by Ben Carter

Thank you so much!

Lucia

IMG_4575.jpg

51GsXXwMTdL._SX400_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

md30493666179.jpg

“A Potter’s Workbook” by Clary Illian is an excellent resource to get you thinking about form.You can apply the same principles to handbuilding. 

It can be expensive so do shop around for it, but “A Potter’s Dictionary” by Hamer and Hamer is a book I wish I’d bought a LOT sooner.

Edited to add: any time you can take an in-person workshop, it’s usually worth it. You’ll get more from in person instruction than you can from books or videos.

@Lucia MatosI would also recommend any of the Robin Hopper books, I especially like Making  Marks. I also like the Simon Leach Book Potters Handbook. Over the years I have owned several ceramics books, and still own enough to fill several shelves in my library. I never get tired of them and always pull them out when wondering about something. Oh that reminds me The Potters Dictionary is also a good book on many things and covers a lot of historic forms.

best,

Pres

Another one that I'ld add to the list would be Clay: A Studio Handbook by Vince Pitelka. There is also a lot of good information on Pitelka's website, he is very generous in sharing much of his teaching material (under the heading Documents and Handouts on his site).

58 minutes ago, Lucia Matos said:

...and the "Youtube University"...