Question about alternative finishes for ceramics & acceptance by ceramic artists

I'm a painter and a ceramic artist/sculptor. I don't build any functional ware at all, everything is built with slab and is sculptural in nature. Even if it's a vase or vessel, it's not meant to be anything other than art.  I like to use alternative finishes for my pieces. After bisque firing, I use paint with a permanent varnish, silver/gold leafing, various waxes, porcelain paints and glass paints (which are heated to 350º to make them permanent).  Sometimes I combine 2 or 3 of these.  I've sold a lot of my works and usually nobody cares what I've used to finish them.

However...

I get a lot of subtle flack for not just using glazes - but only from other ceramic artists, never galleries or other arts organizations. At one point, I tried to sell some things in a co-op on consignment. The ceramics committee there rejected all of the pieces because they weren't glazed (as in high-fire glazes) even though some of them had low-fire velvet glazes and obviously none of them were functional wares (no vases or vessels because they already had several potters with same). I asked why, they said that they wouldn't accept pieces that were painted. (When I say painted, these are usually solid colors or blended colors or techniques, not pictorial or decorative paintings.)  It struck me as very odd to have a group of creative people being so closed-minded about alternative finishes on ceramics.

So, was this just a close-minded group in a small town and the wider world is accepting? Are alternative finishes a big no-no in the ceramic world at large? It really is very enjoyable to me to use these various finishes for so many reasons and I can't help but wonder what the big deal is. 

Anyone care to comment on this?

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Only thing I can really think of is maybe the lack of permenance?  Paint on ceramics hasn't fared well historically.