Orton vent master, lid holes question

Hi all, 

So I'm a bit new to the downdraft vent game and have a question.  I was advised to drill two 1/4" holes in bottom, and lid. It probably wasn't needed to drill into the lid because i have an older skutt and i know it's not vacuum tight. But I have it all hooked up proper and it draws a flame through each hole in the lid (when kiln is off). 

My question is (and this may be obvious) but as the kiln is on and reaching around 1000 f, heat is obviously rising and my little lid holes seem to be blowing out heat as opposed to sucking in? Is this completely normal? Can I assume my vent is still sucking in room air through those lid holes and mixing? Or am I just blowing out heat and fumes? 

Thanks!

As the kiln heats up, the interior of the lid expands more than the exterior, and you end up with a concave shape to the lid, like a contact lens. This causes it to gap at the edges. It could be that the vent is pulling there more than at the holes in the lid. As long as you're not smelling fumes, it's likely working just fine.

2 minutes ago, neilestrick said:

As the kiln heats up, the interior of the lid expands more than the exterior, and you end up with a concave shape to the lid, like a contact lens. This causes it to gap at the edges. It could be that the vent is pulling there more than at the holes in the lid. As long as you're not smelling fumes, it's likely working just fine.

Thanks for the quick reply Neil. That makes a lot of sense, I was weary to drill lid holes to begin with because I didn't think they'd be necessary.  

Would it be smart to fill the holes for the next firing? I'm not getting any fume smell, but still a little worried. 

2 hours ago, neilestrick said:

Hmmm, on second thought I can definitely smell some fumes. 

Hi Brett

I wouldn't expect kiln vent to eliminate all fumes - most, or a lot would be good.