New kiln size selection

I just finished reading all of the threads about "what kind of kiln to buy", etc.   One of the themes that was regularly posted was, to paraphrase, "buy as large a kiln as you can afford/think you will need."  I am looking at 22x18 or 22x23, I spend a lot of time on each piece and will likely only fire 1 or 2 times a month, maybe less.  I am very new to pottery.  My question is for those that have "progressed."  What kind of pieces did you start making that required a larger kiln?   I don't ever see myself increasing production (number of pieces): pottery is just a creative outlet hobby.   I feel as though if I ever want to make a large piece or two I can take it to a local studio to fire for me (transport can be dangerous, I understand).  What am I not considering?   As always, thank you for your time

What do you make? Boats? Lol!

Potter Friend of mine used to build boats, makes wicked work with similar techniques.

I think a lot of folks jump to Electric too fast. I think I may have my little gas body dialed in efficient enough to actually be cheaper to fire than my already quite cheap electric @$10 for 16hrs.

For flexibility sake...well hell, I have 3 different sized bodies, 18in, 23in and 27in, and fire em all with the same burner. About $300 total cost. $500 with a 100gl tank. I guess this isn't typical, but even up to like $1500 even $2k... you're still getting more flexibility than with one new electric. 

Don't reduce yourself to Electric!

Electrify yourself with Reduction!

Sorce

Ha ha, no boats are way too much effort.  

I have no doubt that I will eventually fire reduction in a gas kiln:  my true interest in this sport is glazing.  The ceramic is just a means to an end.  The amount of  information, however, is quite overwhelming to a new potter.  I like the simplicity of plugging in an electric and pushing a button.  At least for now.