Stoneware

RobustEnergies

Hello! I am pretty new to ceramics but learning quickly now that I just hooked up my new/old/free kiln! Don't worry, I figured out all the electrical and have a vent and everything. My question is - I've never worked with stoneware, only earthenware. How much hotter do I need to fire, in general? Or do I?  I got some speckled stoneware clay to use for making coffee mugs. Thanks! 

Your stoneware clay likely matures at a particular temp. If fired to a lower temp, it may not be fully fused (vitrified); if fired to a higher temp, it might just look toastier, however, also might weep little drops, fizz/bubble, melt, and/or other bad stuff.

I'm going cone five, as a few of the cone 5/6 clays I'm using misbehave if fired much hotter, and the ones that don't mind it are very well fused at cone 5.

Some clays are marketed as having a very broad firing range, however, I don't believe.

Basically yes.

the general clays available would be lowfire, cone 04 range, mid fire cone 5-7, high fire, cone 10 ish. Porcelain is clay and you can get midfire and high fire formulations. In general, It is still just clay though.

The geology of the earth is cone 10 basically,  so clays are generally formulated or selected to fire lower for midfire or low fire.  This is a very general statement that explains why cone 10 is a thing on earth.

Bisque firing is intended to burn out organics and chemically bound water to make the ware sturdy and easy to decorate while leaving the clay in a porous state to accept glaze. Bisque firings generally go slow and depend on time at temperature to burn things out. Generally bisque firings run from from 9 to 12 hours. They are done first. Notice once all the chemically combined water is removed it will not go back to being clay. You can dowse it with water and unlike greenware it will not dissolve in your hand.