Help with throwing B-mix with grog

Hello Everybody!

I am a relative beginner at throwing at the wheel. I recently ordered 50 lb of Laguna B-mix with grog because I read that it was a sturdy, easy to throw clay. I have to admit it was a lot rougher than I expected, so not as pleasant to work with as some other clays. I have two questions:

1. My main problem is that every time I try to pull up a wall, rings of clay come off in my hands. I started out with 2 lbs and probably ended up with 1 lb by the time I finished my bowl. What am I doing wrong? I thought I might be trying to pull up too much clay at once... I could only avoid it by barely moving the clay at all. I'm confused because I've seen potters bring up the walls of a cylinder in only a couple of pulls. 

Is there something I could change about my technique or the clay that would help this? 

2.  Is there a way to strain out the grog when I recycle this clay? It is a little too rough for my taste.

Thank you so much!

I don't throw, but using a tool to pack some of the grog in may help.  

The easiest way to seive out the grog is with copious amounts of water. I accidentally found this out yesterday when I ran some clay through a 60 then an 80 to get some sand out.

I ended up with 40g of pure gold!lol!

Sorce

If you’re tearing rings off, it could be that the clay is just too hard. Is the pre-thrown clay a bit easier to use after you’ve let it sit overnight and re wedged it?

As far as removing the grog, you’d have to take it down to slurry and sieve it all. Which would be an epic nuisance. It’s a lot less work to get a different box of clay. You can combine the two as reclaim later and the grog will be less noticeable. 

Hi Mariakat!

Suggestions:

Watch some accomplished throwers (video clips*); note the variation of techniques for moving clay upward, particularly the initial moves.