Best clay and glaze for pie pans and pie birds?

20 minutes ago, Barbsbus 4 fun said:

I am an newbie and would like to make some pie pans and pie birds for Christmas presents.  What kind of clay should I use and do I need to glaze them?

Your favorite cone six clay fired to maturity glazed with a durable food safe glaze is a place to start. Do you have any experience with any particular clay? 

I have some cone 5 clay my kids bought me and really do not know what it is  but I have been playing with it making pinch pots and yard art figures.  I bought a used potters wheel and have been teaching myself off of youtube videos and thought it would be fun to make pie pans and pie birds to go with them.  I also bought a used large electric kiln and haven't used it yet.  I think I heard someplace you need to use clay that is safe to cook with and want to make sure that is what I will be buying.

1 hour ago, Barbsbus 4 fun said:

I have some cone 5 clay my kids bought me and really do not know what it is  but I have been playing with it making pinch pots and yard art figures.  I bought a used potters wheel and have been teaching myself off of youtube videos and thought it would be fun to make pie pans and pie birds to go with them.  I also bought a used large electric kiln and haven't used it yet.  I think I heard someplace you need to use clay that is safe to cook with and want to make sure that is what I will be buying.

Those clays may be fine. Cone 5 clay is still a midfire clay. If you are intending to make these as bakeware then a midfire stoneware is likely fine because it will be more thermal shock resistant than porcelain for example. Cone 5 or 6 glazed appropriately with food safe glazes that  match the clay cone maturity and have no real defects likely are a minimum suggested requirement.  It would be best if you spent as much time as practical learning ceramics. Folks spend years throwing, building and glazing and it’s hard to compress wisdom.