Kiln Help

Hoping to get some help from Tomhumf, Mark C or any of our other converted electric to gas kiln users.  I've been using mine for several years now in an updraft configuration and as expected it fires unevenly so I'm finally getting around to adding a proper chimney. I've reshaped my burner opening  and put brick at a 45 degree angle along the side and added a square shelf on it's side to better direct the gas and shield the pieces on that first shelf. I've attached a few pictures of what I'm working with. In one of them I've outlined in sharpie where I may cut out my flue, I'd appreciate any feedback on which of the two locations may work better. The octagonal shelf in the picture is a placeholder, I've got another one that I'll cut to size and cover the rest of the gap there. I'm thinking I should cut more off of each side as well, only about an inch away from the wall at the current size. 

20200527_173642.jpg

20200527_174038.jpg

20200527_180344_HDR.jpg

So the deal with any downdraft kiln is to keep the heat/flame in the chamber for as long as you can to heatwork the load.

Since your burner in on the right side (floor lever is great ) the flame will want to race towards the flue to get out.

The theory is get the flame up and thru the load before it exits the flue. I do not think you have enough blockage to keep the flame going up and over the load .

More bag wall (meaning higher-way higher ) That flame /heat will just jump over the low shelve and brick and go under the bottom shelve out the flue.

I like the floor level flue with the sharpie and the octogon shelve -but that shelve can be a lot wider to the right side(to much empty space)

you need to rasie the bag wall (shelve up at least 1/2 the kiln height  or more)- to keep the flame/heat from racing to the flue. The brick  wall also needs to come way up. Think of the flame as water teryin g to get out the flue.

You do not have enough blockage yet for that flame